Evan LaBrant's Blog


to keep. And take.
August 8, 2015, 4:15 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Would you be poor with me?
Make love on the bedroom floor with me?
Just a mattress on the ground, no sheets to be found
I wanna see your chest heave
see your breath leave, fill the room
my lungs, my ears
I breath out, now you in, and we trade
Share the room, share the air

I’ve got nothing to give, everything to lose
Heart twisted and mangled by the things I choose
to hold onto
I try to forgive and forget
I’m not that man, not anymore
But Satan’s still chasing my soul
Screaming and throwing rocks into this gaping hole
I’ve got deep in my chest
And I scream back,
“You don’t own me, don’t hold me,
don’t know me! Get behind me!”

Would you be poor with me?
Chase the endless stars for endless nights and drink
deep

You see, I’ve got nothing to give
everything to keep
And take. And taste.
Wanna taste your inside,
taste your soul
taste your whole being, head to toe
Taste and drink and have to keep
But what to give?
What to trade?
Is this an exchange?!
God knows I’m broke as hell

You say I’ll never be enough, and that’s my freedom
that’s the reason; My God that sounds sweet
I can’t say I’ve been given that choice:
to be less than enough and more than my most
Be a man, be a boy, wrapped up in Holy Ghost
To be tested and tried, purified in fire
like silver or gold, heart aflame
God above, stirring furiously this crucible

never enough, and yet already more

Would you be poor with me?
Make love in the winter cold with me?
Wrapped up warm and tight;
two bodies, one flesh find warmth and light

Would you be poor with me?
Make love on the bedroom floor with me?
Children of God unabashedly naked and unashamed
in the daylight
Drink, drink, drinking
deep from the well of life: love

If I have nothing to give, everything to take
would you lean in?
Or turn away?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

